After moving the PRINTAUDIT database to a new SQL server, the PrintAudit service account no longer works.


When moving the PRINTAUDIT database to a new SQL server the PrintAudit service account created in the database at install will no longer work.  While the user still exists in the database, you receive errors whenever you try to use PrintAudit to connect to the database.

This results because the service account user needs to be linked to a login on the server.  When the database is created, that login and the relationship between it and the user are established, but when you move the database to a new server, the required login does not exist and needs to be recreated.

Please contact Print Audit support and we can provide you an SQL script (run through Database Maintenance) which will create and link the required login on the new server.

How did we do with this article?