Moving Print Audit 6 with Access to a New Server

The following are steps to move Print Audit 6 and a Microsoft Access database to a new server.

Basic Steps

  1. Install Print Audit 6 on the new server without creating a new database.
  2. Move the Access database from the old server to the new server.
  3. Reconfigure the Client workstations to point to the new server.
NOTE:  If your access database is not on the Print Audit server, but shared from another server, or on NAS, or similar, and that server/appliance will continue to house and host the database, there is no need to move the database to the new server, simply point the Database Communicator on that server to the database location. You will still want to read step #3 as it contains important information that will help you to prevent your client seat licenses from becoming orphaned.

Step #1 – Install Print Audit 6 on the new server (without a new database)


Refer to the Step by Step Walkthrough installation instructions to complete the installation. The only difference when you are installing Print Audit 6 on the new server is that you do not want to create a new database in Step #6.

NOTE: Ensure that you download the most recent version of Print Audit 6 from the Print Audit website.

Step #2 – Move the database to the new server


Use the following instructions to move the database files from the old server to the new server.

1.               On both the old and the new servers, stop the Database Communicators by going to Windows services or by right clicking the icon in the system tray.
This important step is often overlooked. Failure to stop the Database Communicator on the original server prior to moving the database will result in orphaned seat licenses, while these seat licenses can be reclaimed, it's better to avoid the situation entirely by simply ensuring the Database Communicator is stopped prior to moving the database.

2.               There are two files created when you install a Microsoft Access database. By default, the database files will be named 'PA6DB.MDB' and 'PA6DB.MDW' and are located in the My Documents folder of the user who did the install. Move the files from the old server to the same folder on the new server (you may need to create a folder if the files are located in a different location than listed above).

3.               On the new server, start the Database Communicator. You will have to browse and locate the 'PA6DB.MDB' file.

N.B.: If you are in an environment where it will be problematic to complete step 4 within a business day, or in an environment where application downtime must be strictly minimized, once you've migrated the database to the new location, you can reconfigure the Database Communicator on the original server to point to the new database location. This will make the original communicator available to the installed clients while you go through the process of reconfiguring them to use the new server. After all the clients have been reconfigured, gracefully shutdown the Database Communicator on the original server, then use the Microsoft Services Control applet (services.msc) to set the startup option to disabled. This will prevent orphaned seat licenses and ensure that the service doesn't start before the machine is decommissioned or the application removed.

Step #3 - Point the Client workstations to the new server


There are a few different options to reconfigure the Client workstations to point to the new server.

1.  The best method would be the same method used to initially deploy the Client. You will have to create a new Network Installation package and then deploy it. Please see the  instruction for more information on creating a Network Installation.

2.  The last option is to update each Client manually.

a.  Go to a Client workstation.

b.  Open My Computer

c.  Browse to C:\Program Files\Print Audit Inc\Print Audit 6\Client and double click the ' PA6CCUTL.EXE' file.

d.  Enter the computer name or IP address of the new server and then choose OK.

e.  Either reboot the workstation or have the user log off and log back in for the change to take effect.

How did we do with this article?